September 19 – 25, 2021

Rochester, NY (September 23, 2021) – The Monroe County Sheriff’s Office joins sheriff’s offices throughout New York State in commemorating Sheriffs’ Week September 19 – 25, 2021. The week takes on even more significance this year for us as MCSO celebrates its 200th Anniversary. The week traditionally highlights the service and contributions of county sheriffs across the state, honoring the dedication of the Office of Sheriff in county government and in the statewide criminal justice system. It also pays tribute to those sheriffs and sheriff’s deputies who have died in the line of duty.

In New York State, the Office of Sheriff was provided for in the state’s first constitution in 1777, and has existed as a continuous protector of the public good ever since. The Monroe County Sheriff’s Office was formed in 1821 with the appointment of Brockport merchant James Seymour as the first Sheriff. Sheriff Todd K. Baxter currently serves as the 50th Sheriff of Monroe County.

Sheriffs are the only law enforcement officials in the state to be directly elected by their constituents. As elected officials, they are directly accountable to the people of the community in which they serve. The Sheriff is the highest ranking law enforcement officer in the county. The Monroe County Sheriff’s Office has five bureaus, to include, Road Patrol, Jail, Court, Civil, and Staff Services.

As we proudly mark this annual occasion, we remain grateful to the men and women, both sworn and civilian staff, who answer the call and the calling to serve and protect our community while living our core values of Respect, Integrity, Teamwork and Excellence. Whether in the jail, in the courts, on the road, in an emergency or simply in your neighborhood to say ‘hello,’ we are in the community and there is nowhere else we’d rather be.

We especially honor our fallen; those sheriffs and sheriff’s deputies who died in the line of duty, with a Wreath Laying Ceremony on Thursday, September 23, 2021 at the Fallen Deputies Memorial, located on the Civic Center Plaza, 130 S. Plymouth Ave., Rochester.

“While we celebrate the successes of the Monroe County Sheriff’s Office and sheriffs’ offices throughout our state this week, we also pause to remember the sacrifices of those who came before us and paid the ultimate sacrifice while serving our community,” said Monroe County Sheriff Todd K. Baxter. “These dedicated public servants and their commitment to the profession will always be remembered and appreciated.”

The Monroe County Sheriff’s Office will also hold its annual Awards Ceremony on Friday, October 1, 2021, 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. at Sheriff’s Headquarters, located at 130 S. Plymouth Ave., Rochester. The Sheriff’s Awards Ceremony recognizes Sheriff’s deputies and civilian staff members for their outstanding acts of bravery, heroism, outstanding accomplishments and exceptional performance. Among the honorees, MCSO Deputy and Civilian of the Year.


In Memoriam:

Deputy Sheriff Simon J. Bermingham End of Watch 01/10/12
Special Deputy C. Fred Sova End of Watch 09/08/31
Special Deputy Joseph G. Munz End of Watch 02/26/32
Deputy Sheriff William Marshall End of Watch 04/03/46
Deputy Sheriff James I. Conheady End of Watch 03/25/47
Deputy Sheriff John Pullano End of Watch 05/16/57
Undersheriff George A. Conway End of Watch 08/13/65
Deputy Sheriff Francis E. Dombrowski End of Watch 02/06/70
Deputy Sheriff Sergeant Robert M. Skelton, Jr. End of Watch 06/23/72
Deputy Sheriff Sergeant Peter J. Rotolo End of Watch 09/20/74
Deputy Sheriff Corporal Catherine M. Crawford End of Watch 03/05/95